Always A Runner-Up, Never A Winner

I’m sure some of you out there are waking up in the middle of the night in a cold sweat with a single question on your collective minds.  “What the heck has Laura E. Stacey accomplished recently?”  Well, sit back, relax, and let me tell you.

I entered the Martyn Godfrey Writing Award competition again.  And I won runner-up!  Again!  It’s almost suspicious…

Honestly, I didn’t expect to get any mention.  I mean, I won runner-up last year.  I was pretty sure they weren’t gonna pick the same person twice, lest they seem biased.  But, lo and behold, they did.  Maybe they forgot me.  As well, I wasn’t nearly as confident with my story this year as last year.  See, last year, they gave a theme, and I was proud as a peacock about how well I used it.  But this year… no theme.  Complete freedom to write what you like sounds like a blessing, but really, it’s an awful responsibility.  You’ve just got nothing to go off of when the only requirement is “funny”.  So, I’m trying for weeks to think of something, and just grasping at straws.  In the end, I decided upon a fairy tale parody I wrote in grade 7, “Sleeping Danger.”  Of course, I edited it to bring it up to standard, but it was still amateur, and only 600 and some words, a step above the bare minimum, and doesn’t that look bad.  But I guess they liked it!

Unfortunately, this year I don’t get to go to Wordsworth, no, such an honour is reserved for the real winners.  But, I do get a visit from an Albertan author who will speak at my school.  I’m sure my classmates will be thrilled to be dragged out of class and forced to sit on the floor for a few hours listening to someone they don’t know speak about a craft they most likely don’t care about.  But I’m looking forward to it!  I also get an award certificate at our schools next Awards Night.  Good to have some portfolio fodder, I suppose.  🙂

Ooh!  And I also got an interview from a local newspaper!  They really want to write about my almost award-winning!  I honestly wondered if that was the most interesting thing they had to write about, which would be rather sad.  I’m really not that big of a deal.  Hence the unpopularity of my blog.  But regardless, I was thrilled!  It’s so important for an author to build up “cred” which basically substitutes for an actual resume.  If you didn’t know, that’s actually the point of this blog.  I need to be KNOWN.  I may actually get the story published in another newspaper as well.  I feel like such a celebrity!

What May Be Up And Coming On This Blog. Maybe.

Hey guys; I know I haven’t written anything in a while, but, hey, it’s not like I have loyal followers!  Just you losers… people who know me and view my blog out of pity or because I told them to, and people who accidentally ended up here.  Anyway, I have an idea for actually making people care about me as a writer, and I want to see what you guys think.

Basically, it would be like a TV series, but with blog posts.  Yeah, I know I’m not even close to being the first one to think of it, but shut up.  I’d write little episodes, engaging my little characters in little plots, and hopefully people will check back to see the next episode.  Maybe people will be even… anxious for the next one!  Oh no, now I’ve jinxed it.  Regardless, it may be fun.

My only real idea so far is centred around one of my other interests… psychology!  I see that some of you seem sort of bored by the word.  Let’s put it this way… it’s a lot like a high school drama, but everybody is diagnosable crazy.  The story takes place in a cross between a research lab and a mental institution.  Some scientists decided they want to study mental disorders in a different environment, so they try to get a case for every mental illness and put them all together, to see how they interact, and to get them all in the same place for observation.  Yeah, it’s a little shaky, but maybe I’ll make it work.  The backbone of the story, of course, is the characters themselves, and their insecurities and relationships.  To name a few:

A “Barbie” girl who can’t stand being blonde, stupid, and mocked, and has developed some real self-esteem issues regarding it.

A man who thinks he’s a knight from the middle ages.

A “figment of the imagination” who refuses to believe that he’s no more than such.  (Multiple personality disorder.)

A man struck with Kuru, a disease caused by… cannibalism!  ( And yes, I know it’s not technically a mental disorder, but still.)

So, I just want to know if there’s any support out there for this, or even any requests for specific characters or disorders.  This would be the time.